What has happened to the present day developers?

A question has been bubbling through my mind as to "why people program", most times I hear people saying they are into the career just for me, I am not badmouthing them even with the fact that I haven't made enough money from programming.

Another baffling thing about this space is that we all tend to follow the crowd(frontend development), nevertheless full stack development is just a facade people hide under.

Early 2017, I read a lot of book ranging from " hacker and painter" by Paul Graham and "hacker: hacker recolution" by Steven levy I noticed that these programmers stated in each book, have to invent which is the mentality I am harmed with, and is one that prevents me from aiming to program for gigs or other things.

I just hope one day, most programmers in Africa would avoid comparing themselves with others on twitter and just hack to invent. I haven't invented much but more to come.9